Select Page

Orbital Reveal New Album Details

Orbital Reveal New Album Details

Newly reunited electronic duo Orbital is preparing to release their first studio album in five years, titled Monsters Exist. The new record is set to be more typical of the sound that helped garner brothers Paul and Phil Hartnoll legions of fans all over the world after breaking out in the early 90s.

A press release states that Monsters Exist will see Orbital, drawing inspiration from the international political landscape all the way back from Paul and Phil’s pre-rave squat-punk roots right to the volatile tensions and erratic rhetoric of today.”

Reflecting on the album’s narrative and the downtime the pair have had since the release of Wonky in 2012, Paul Hartnoll said:

When you haven’t made an album in five years it just comes tumbling out. Because of the global situation, I was torn between writing a really aggressive crass type album that says ‘Fuck The Man!’ or going back to rave sensibilities. You know, let’s really rebel by stepping away and actually living that alternative lifestyle.” But the idea of ‘Monsters Exist’ tied it all together.”

You don’t need to spell out who the monsters are,” he says.

We’re not pointing our fingers at Donald Trump or Kim Jong-un. It’s clear who the monsters are. I’ve never liked preaching to people. It’s much better to provoke a bit of thought.”

In May, Orbital released ‘Tiny Foldable Cities’ a prelude for the forthcoming LP which will mark their ninth studio album since the release of their self-titled debut in 1990.

Monsters Exist will be released on September 14th as double-LP and CD packages, a four-LP box-set and via digital formats.

Tracklist – CD/Deluxe Edition Disc 1 

01. Monsters Exist
02. Hoo Hoo Ha Ha
03. The Raid
04. P.H.U.K.
05. Tiny Foldable Cities
06. Buried Deep Within
07. Vision OnE
08. The End Is Nigh
09. There Will Come A Time (Featuring Prof. Brian Cox)

Tracklist – Deluxe Edition Disc 2

01. Kaiju
02. A Long Way From Home
03. Analogue Test Oct 16
04. Fun With The System
05. Dressing Up In Other People’s Clothes
06. To Dream Again
07. There Will Come A Time (Instrumental)
08. Tiny Foldable Cities (Kareful Remix) 

Orbital – Tiny Foldable Cities

For more information head here.

About The Author

Dan Hudson Smith

London based electronic dance music blogger, supporter and biscuit enthusiast. Get me...

Recent Videos


Recent Tweets


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This